132 SKN 3 & 4 Horse and carriage

I have been neglecting the blog lately. Life just gets in the way sometimes.

But I have been busy, journal making and sketching. I’m really enjoying Liz Steel’s online Sketching class and through her very comprehensive postings and videos I’m getting a lot out of it.

Below is a sketch from Lesson 4. Constucting volumes and how to see through shapes. A stack of books is a good example on  how to do this.4b Lesson 5 – Measured set – up. I found this approach a little painstaking and because I measured so carefully found that I became even tighter with my work. But it’s all good learning and a way of trying different approaches that I wouldn’t do normally. DSCF4137After doing these exercises I had  a go at a fairly complicated photo reference from WetCanvas 2 hour Weekend Drawing Challenge. I was happy that I could simplify the image and the volumes exercise certainly helped me with the shapes.   DSCF4128

Leave a Reply

