182 Gardens – Monet ‘s and Restaurant

A few days ago I enjoyed a day out with a friend who took me along to her local art group for a demo on pet portraits in pastel.  It’s always fun to see a different technique and I’m happy to pick up any new ideas and tips. Then we visited a local cafe which had a previous life as a garden centre, designed by a landscaper with an artistic eye with lots of quirky artifacts nestled amongst plantings and ponds. I hadn’t intended to sketch here but it was so appealing and I did have a little sketchbook and a ballpoint on in my bag so I sketched it there and added colour at home. A little added colour actually makes the figures look human.

image

One advantage of being in the city is easy access to art supplies. While I am never interested in shopping like “normal” people I can’t pass an art shop. I now have new sketchbooks, pens and watercolours. Just adding to my retirement portfolio 🙂

In one of my new sketchbooks (made from Strathmore Toned paper) I painted a little gouache impression of Monets garden from a photo posted by Artastic for the 2 hour challenge on Wetcanvas.

image

I’ve been away from home for 4 weeks now. Heading home tomorrow and I will be happy to be back in my own space. While it has been fun getting to see and sketch in new places I do prefer the comfort and familiarity of my studio.

4 thoughts on “182 Gardens – Monet ‘s and Restaurant

  1. i agree with Faith, your blog IS inspiring. Love your sketchbook sketches and your gouache Monet’s garden. What beautiful work.

    I don’t remember why you were in the city for 4 weeks, but that is a long time to be away from home.

Leave a Reply

