184 Why Paint?

Why paint? I’ve often asked myself that question. I’ve always wanted to create art for as long as I can remember but it was actively discouraged when I was younger. I know times were tough for my folks then. But ever since childhood I have always doodled and scribbled and now I find myself becoming more obsessive about it. I just have to have it in my life. Just looking at art feeds my soul, and I think the art shows the soul of the artist who created it.

I enjoy looking and being wowed by work online, and it makes me want to try different things. It’s why I keep on doing painting and sketching challenges on various Web sites.
I recently discovered an artist on The Artists Journal Workshop facebook page, Karen Lehman. Man, her portrait sketches are amazing. So full of life and character. I’m always thrilled to see another new portrait by her.

So when last weekends 2 hour challenge on Wetcanvas was to create a piece of art by using geometric shapes I thought I’d do a portrait and loosely base it on her technique. Not altogether successful, but it’s always good to try something different.

image

This was the initial pen sketch in a cheapie imitation Moleskine journal.

image

After adding watercolour. The paper wouldn’t take too many washes so I added a little more ink and water soluble crayon.

Thanks Karen Lehman for the inspiration.

4 thoughts on “184 Why Paint?

Leave a Reply

