190 How to kill a painting

It’s been a while since my last post. I have been painting and sketching but I’ll just post my painting progress this time.
I liked a photo posted by Crispur2005 for the 2 hour challenge on Wetcanvas last weekend so after making a quick sketch I decided to go with it.

image

Pretty crummy I know but it does get better 🙂 I drew a bit better looking model on a sheet of Arches 300g about 28 x 40 cm and added some washes. Actually overdid some of them. The colour didn’t do it for me though.

image

So I tried to add more colour and bit more interest in the background using gouache. This is where it all goes wrong. I lose the looseness of the initial painting.

image

After I  posted it on Wetcanvas I  got some great feedback and suggestions. Common faults that I really should know better. Feet too small, head too large. I know I don’t take the time to stand back from my work. Must remember to do this. So back to the board.  I killed it with a layer of white gouache and restated some lines with  a bamboo pen. I actually don’t mind this – looks like it’s re emerging from the mist.

image

But I can’t leave things alone so more gouache again. I’m letting  this one sit for a while. It may get more work, it may not. The great thing about gouache is that I can come and add or subtract, draw over it or even repaint the whole lot out and start over again.

image

6 thoughts on “190 How to kill a painting

  1. This is an awesome post! Thanks so much for sharing your process. I’d be happy with every one of these as I’m not don’t draw people that well (I never get proportions right!). I actually love the one coming out of the mist, but all versions are super beautiful and interesting to look at!

  2. Thank you for showing us your process! I love seeing how the painting evolved, and your thoughts between each version. This is super helpful! For what it’s worth, I think I like the looseness of the second painting. Perhaps the feet are too small and the head too large, but people show up in real life that way, too. 🙂 Different versions will appeal to different people for different reasons, I’m sure. The important thing, it seems, is that you learned a ton about process and about what YOU like and don’t like, which I think is the most important “north star” by which to steer in the creative process. Kudos, and thank you!

Leave a Reply

