242 Sketches from Bali

It’s been almost a month since I posted. A lot has happened in that time, a wedding, visitors and travel, with not a lot of free time for sketching.

First up is a sketch of the happy couple for the wedding card.

img_1790

Next came the boring parts of travel. Trying to capture people at the airport certainly helps while away the waiting time, even if people move too fast, it’s all good practise.

img_1816

On the plane and then the the first day at the resort. Hot, tropical weather is conducive to lounging by the pool with a glass of fresh juice. I drank a lot of fresh juices in Bali, guava, watermelon, mango, pineapple and some I’m sure I missed.img_1817

Another day, another beach. What a hard life it was 😊 I also tried to sketch the view from the front steps. Unfortunately taxis kept coming and going, blocking my view and filling the air with petrol fumes. It wasn’t such a good idea so I retreated back to the beach.

img_1815

After an idyllic week of luxury resorting, we moved up to the hills of Ubud.

img_1811

All of the above sketches were in my 23 x 15 cm journal. I then switched to my mini journal (16 x 11cm) and mini sketch kit on our day trips. I find I’m more inclined to do a quick scribble in the little journal, whereas the larger one I only seemed to use if I had access to a seat and table with room to spread out a little. 

The Campuhan ridge walk was very beautiful, although rather hot and sweaty, it was definetly the main highlight of the Ubud area. I did a quick line sketch while drinking a lassi (yoghurt fruit drink) at a cafe overlooking rice fields. 

img_1806

I also managed another quick sketch of one of the many temples we visited. As we weren’t required to hire a guide for this one I had a few minutes to myself to do a line sketch and add the colour later.


Finally,  a couple of sketches done from photos in my mini journal.


Bali is a beautiful, tropical holiday destination with lots of different options. We stayed firstly at a luxury resort which is quite removed from the “real Bali”. The next few days were in Ubud in the mountainous region, which is surrounded by tropical jungle and rice fields. It was an artists colony and retreat in the past but is now very busy with traffic and street markets.  Then much more down market our last few days were spent in Legian which is very close to Kuta, the main shopping, bar and nightclub area. The area is completely congested with taxis, motor bikes, scooters and other vehicles all driving to the road rules that only Balinese seem to understand.

It was a wonderful holiday but it’s always good to be home.

10 thoughts on “242 Sketches from Bali

  1. So enjoyable to wake up early, go to my laptop and find your many lovely paintings which I have missed. Glad you are back and had a great trip. I especially like the one of the temple. Also the beach scenes and the Ridge walk. I have been able to visit places I’ll never get to visit through your eyes. Thanks.

  2. What a beautiful range of sketches! Portraits, people, food, details, buildings, and landscapes, each such a delightful way to follow your adventures. Well done. Thank you for taking us along.

  3. very cool. I like travel sketching & travel journaling also. Thank you for your comments on my blog. I’ll be posting images soon of my trip to Bahamas, I just got home. I like your style, very expressive and conveys a free line.

Leave a Reply

