249 Mainly Portraits

This past week has been almost exclusively Portraits for me. For inspiration I scrolled through Sktchyapp and I found a cute photo of a little chihuahua. I loved the expression on his face and tried to capture the little dog, big attitude look.

img_2482
The #mondaymuse challenge on Sktchyapp this week was a girl who writes poetry, and the challenge was to include words into the artwork. Well, I had this great idea for using words. I’m rubbish at poetry and prose so I thought I’d use an old book with text. I applied a thin coat of gesso and added watercolour. That didn’t  work so I used copics that I don’t know how to use, then coloured pencils, fineliner and finally some watercolour that sort of worked. I learn as I go πŸ˜€

IMG_2509.JPG
The #quickdraw challenge was to do a drawing and add colour in less than 5 minutes. Fun to do when you throw caution to the wind.


I really like doing challenges like these as they stretch me a bit and help get me out of the rut.

This next painting was a quick class demo on skin tones. I gave away the sketch I did last week so I quickly did another. I should have taken a bit more time on the sketch because I didn’t get a good likeness, but as I was concentrating on mixing skin tones the sketch had to do.

After the lesson I played around with gouache, to remedy the problem areas.  The more I play with gouache, the more I like it, especially as I have a new set of Holbein.


The width of the nose and the eyebrows needed some surgery. You can see here where I reshaped the eyebrows and the nose. Patches of watercolour still show through in places.
I have also been keeping up with #20sketches20days on Facebook. I decided that the best way for me to keep up is to keep them small, so I decided on the diary format in an old Moleskine type journal. The paper is challenging to work with but it’s all about doing a daily sketch, so it will suffice.



But now I feel the need to knuckle down and do some serious painting as opposed to indulging myself with all this fun stuff. Maybe I can do some stuff that is saleable to earn a few dollars to recoup expenses.

Watch this space πŸ˜€

7 thoughts on “249 Mainly Portraits

  1. Lots to say about this post. First, I have a chihuahua so I love this. The “I am very important” look is fitting. The challenges are wonderful. I enjoy your use of mixed media. You have encouraged me to do this more.

    I also sketch daily and sometimes I like the small sketches more than a large painting. I also think it can express more of who you are.

    But I really like the portrait of the man. It is very powerful. I look forward to your posts.

  2. Personally, I like your loose and playful experiments a lot. No need to get too serious for me. Unless it helps pushing the playfulness. You could try seeing it that way. The serious stuff is practice and the playful stuff is your artistic expression. Love, Stuart

Leave a Reply

