250 Finishing UFOs

I decided this past week to finish off some of my ufo’s………unfinished objects 😊 I’m  working my way through the pile. This landscape was from a National Park we visited on our long trip around the country. It has been in the unfinished pile for ages, so now there is one less.  I think I salvaged it and will hopefully sell it at an exhibition later in the year. 

I do have a lot more unfinished paintings to work through and I will be ruthless. If I can’t make them work I’ll bin them.

In the meantime I had a morning with the local pleinair air group at the beach. Fine weather but the wind was a little chilly, which always makes me sketch a lot quicker. The first sketch is watercolour on cartridge paper.

The next one was a little gouache, looking across the bay.

And then I went for something completely different, a larger acrylic on canvas. I haven’t painted with acrylic for a long time and I forgot how much darker it dries, opposite to watercolour. This is 600 x 450 mm or 24 x 18″. Another one for the exhibition?

10 thoughts on “250 Finishing UFOs

  1. The blue bird s a gorgeous blue. It is a lovely painting and is so striking. Of course for the exhibition. And the National Park painting is wonderful. Where is the park? I know so little about the country you live in. My travels outside the USA are only to Mexico, Canada and Hawaii and that is limited. I have only been to a couple of this country’s national parks.

      1. 20 hours would be a lifetime to me. The longest flight for me was about 4 hours and I could hardly sit still. But to see your grandchild would make it all worthwhile.

Leave a comment