251 Daily Sketching

I’m late catching up posting my daily sketches. I am continuing to do a little sketch daily, but I struggle with finding inspiring subjects. I do like to do different stuff and I like to experiment a bit but inspiration is sometimes lacking and the paper in this journal is challenging.

After three weeks of mundane things I got a little bored so I  decided to do a little pencil portrait each day, as pencil is more acceptable to this paper. I don’t have to think of something different to draw each day, but there is enough variety in faces to keep me challenged. I do enjoy drawing faces and I can sit in the living room and do a little sketch in my lap, keeping the hub company while he watches tv. And there is an endless supply of interesting faces to be found on Sktchyapp.

After I’d decided to do these daily portraits I read that Marc Taro Holmes (Montreal, CA) and Liz Steel (Sydney, AUS) are inviting the world to join in with #OneWeek100People2017. The goal is to draw 100 people in one week from March 6th to 10th. I’m going to try for this – 20 quick sketches a day – 5 minutes apiece should be doable if I can speed up a bit and not worry too much about the likeness. Just so long as they look human. The aim is practise, not perfection and this should be an interesting exercise. Anyone else going to do this? 

For something different this week I also managed to meet up with the local sketching group for an outing at a national trust historic farmhouse, situated in wonderful garden surrounds. It’s always fun to paint with a like minded group in a beautiful setting.

15 thoughts on “251 Daily Sketching

  1. I’m in too and I will be glad when my people will turn out as human beings and no monsters. It will be quite a challenge to find the time for this but I’ll do my very best:-)

  2. Good portraits. I really like the farmhouse painting. Is that gauche? What paper do you like now? Or do you stick to one kind. I am getting so set in my ways that I find one and stick to it. Tho I have used many varieties in the past.

    I can’t get Sktchyapp but I do like to put the TV on hold and draw from that. Yet, I don’t think I want to do the 100 in one week.

    • Sorry, I should have said it was watercolour on Saunders paper. I don’t really have a favourite, I just use what I can lay my hands on out of my stash. When I buy new I think I’ll buy Fabriano for watercolours.

  3. That’s an enviable collection of sketches there! You really capture details well, especially with your people sketches. Mine always look like cartoon people, lol. I’m hoping next week’s challenge will improve my skill somewhat.

Leave a Reply

