#253 – 100 People and More

I managed to complete the 100 people challenge and actually did a few extra. 

On day 4 I used a Lamy Joy fountain pen to sketch directly and quickly. I found that sketching from photos I was taking too long for each face so I gave myself a time limit of 3 minutes each.  That was hard and I found that if I studied the face for a short time and tried to memorise it I had more success. It didn’t help that I was using a pen that I don’t get along with. Doing this exercise really showed my weakness and I know now that I need to spend more time on proportions as I often seem to leave too little chin. 

Day 5 – I was able to do some real people sketching. A painting group, a waiting room, sketchers outdoors and some little stick figures walking by. Mainly ink and watercolour sketches.

And just for fun a couple of dudes having a break.

I was really glad when the five days were up as the pressure to do 20 a day was over, but I realised that I quite like doing these faces, and really enjoyed using the watercolour pencils. So my new routine is now a portrait each evening, in front of tv. I keep my pencils and journal handy on the side table, and flick through the iPad for an inspiration photo, usually from Sktchyapp. Sometimes the sketch looks like the subject, sometimes it’s a bit off  but I’m enjoying the learning process. This was sketched with watercolour pencils and the waterbrush applied where I want to soften or meld the colours together. If I want darker colours I draw back into the wet area.




Apart from my portraits I also managed an ink and watercolour sketch from a pleinair outing in town.


Another little one of a local landmark aptly named “Dog Rock”, also ink and watercolour.

6 thoughts on “#253 – 100 People and More

  1. I always enjoy your work. Your portraits are wonderful. When you say “a watercolor sketch” are you combining paints with the watercolor pencils or just the pencils? Can you explain this process? I ask as I am also using watercolor pencils with paint. Sometimes alone.

    I really enjoy your last two scenes as well. Especially the “Dog Rock”.

    • Sorry, I should have been more specific. The portraits I sketched with the watercolour pencils, then touched the with a waterbrush here and there, sometimes going back into the wet area with the watercolour pencil. The last two “watercolour sketches” were done with an ink sketch before adding watercolour only. No pencils in these.

  2. Like Judy I’m curious about your watercolor pencil technique it appears you didn’t activate them with water… yet there appears to be watercolor on the portraits… hum… inquiring minds want to know how you did that?

    • Sorry, I should have been more specific. The portraits I sketched with the watercolour pencils, then touched the with a waterbrush here and there, sometimes going back into the wet area with the watercolour pencil. The last two “watercolour sketches” were done with an ink sketch before adding watercolour only. No pencils in these.

Leave a Reply

