256 Pleinair and Portraits

Our pleinair group met at a local historic cottage last week on a beautiful sunny autumn day. It’s fun sketching these old buildings with their funny angles and numerous chimneys. Artistic license allowed me to edit out the ugly buildings behind the cottage. Ink and watercolour sketch.

img_3149

Back to my current daily habit, sketching a portrait in front of tv at night. This is Foggy from Sktchyapp – 2B pencil in A5 Quill journal.

img_3085

This is Michelle in my Strathmore toned paper journal, experimenting with a Pentel brushpen and Portfolio  water soluble oil pastels.img_3101

Mlle June in 2B pencil in Quill journal.
img_3120

And Kaysha sketched with something different, having fun with a Kohinoor magic pencil in the Quill journal. These pencils have various colours in the lead so it’s a surprise to see the colours appear.

This may be my last post for a little while. I have recently had eye surgery and at the moment trying to focus is a problem, and will be until I have follow up surgery in a few weeks. Hopefully I’ll be back sketching up a storm after my break.

13 thoughts on “256 Pleinair and Portraits

  1. Your portraits are super. The last is my favorite.

    But enough of that. Just want to add that I had eye surgery on Feb. 1 and am finally starting to have most of the vision in my left eye . I had a vitrectomy for a macular hole. I have no idea what you are having but my best wishes are with you, as is my sincere empathy. I did the 100 faces with one eye and I know it is tough. But anything is worth saving one’s vision . I will miss your posts and looking forward to your return.

Leave a Reply

